Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealDismissedCivil Appeal No. 147 of 2005· [2015] KECA 793 (KLR)

Trinityprimeinvestmentlimited v Lion of Kenya Insurance Company Limited

Court of Appeal of Kenya
24 April 2015
9,123 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~36 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal ruled that a signed insurance discharge voucher accepting a lower payment is a full and final settlement, ending any claim for the balance.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This Court of Appeal bench (Githinji, Nambuye and Mwera, JJ.A) heard the appellant's nine-ground appeal and the respondent's five-ground cross-appeal against Ringera, J's dismissal of the appellant's claim for the balance of Sh.6,776,471 under a domestic package fire policy. The High Court had held that although the rateable proportion clause in the respondent's policy was inapplicable and the full loss was Sh.12.8m, the appellant had compromised its claim by executing a discharge voucher accepting Sh.6,023,529 in full and final settlement. On first-instance review by way of retrial, the Court of Appeal agreed with the trial judge on both central issues. First, the respondent's rateable proportion clause, properly construed, captured only other insurances effected by the insured itself and did not apply to the Madison policy taken out by Standard Chartered Bank and Stone Crest Ltd; consequently the respondent would have been liable for the full loss. Second, and decisively, the discharge voucher - executed with legal advice, free of fraud or misrepresentation, and stating payment was in full and final settlement on an indemnity basis - constituted a complete contract and accord and satisfaction releasing the respondent from further liability. The court also held that the appellant, having never completed the purchase from Standard, could not benefit under the Madison policy. Interest of 12% (had the claim succeeded) and the costs order were upheld. The appeal was dismissed with costs and the dependent cross-appeal dismissed with no orders as to costs. The High Court decision was affirmed in substance.

Key legal issues

#
01

Construction of the rateable proportion clause in the respondent's policy

Holding

The clause applied only where the insured itself had effected other insurances over the same property; the Madison policy taken out by Standard and Stone Crest did not trigger it, so the respondent could not invoke rateable apportionment and was liable for the full assessed loss of Sh.12.8m.

Reasoning

Reading both sentences of clause 3 conjunctively, the notice requirement relates to other insurances effected by the insured or on his behalf. The Madison policy was effected by Standard and Stone Crest, not by the appellant, was not taken on its behalf and was not assigned to it. The appellant did not even know of the Madison policy when it took its own cover. The clause therefore does not admit of application to a third party's policy covering the same property.

p. 11
02

Effect of the discharge voucher

Holding

The voucher, signed with full knowledge and without fraud or misrepresentation, was a complete contract and accord and satisfaction discharging the respondent from any further liability, despite the rateable proportion clause not applying.

Reasoning

The voucher stated the payment was in full and final settlement on an indemnity basis as the insurers' rateable share of a Sh.12.8m loss. Ananda had legal advice from his own and the respondent's lawyers, was in contact with Madison's assessors, knew the total loss, and accepted the payment to obtain a quick settlement. The only reference to the Madison policy was not a condition or promise. Applying Halsbury's on accord and satisfaction, the respondent was released from the obligation even though it would otherwise have owed the full loss.

p. 13
03

Section 49 of the Transfer of Property Act and the failure to complete the purchase

Holding

Because the appellant never completed the purchase from Standard, it could not benefit from sums paid by Madison to Standard; both vendor and purchaser retained insurable interests at the time of the fire.

Reasoning

Had the appellant completed the sale and reinstated the property, it could have claimed the benefit of Madison's payment to Standard. The appellant failed to complete despite an extension of time, its deposit was forfeited and the property was sold to a third party. With the transaction incomplete, no avenue was open for the appellant to benefit directly under the Madison policy, whether as a party or a beneficiary.

p. 12
04

Interest and costs

Holding

Had the claim succeeded, 12% per annum court rate would have applied, there being no evidence to support 25%; the costs discretion under the Civil Procedure Act was properly exercised by the trial judge.

Reasoning

Ananda's evidence on the 25% rate was a mere claim not supported by data such as from the Central Bank, whereas the respondent produced evidence of rates in its area of business. On costs, the loss-of-rent claim of Sh.2.4m formed part of the pleadings until orally abandoned, and the judge in awarding costs took that into account; no improper exercise of discretion under section 27 of the Civil Procedure Act was demonstrated.

p. 14

Legal principles established

#
  • An appeal from the High Court to the Court of Appeal proceeds by way of retrial, and the appellate court is not bound by the trial judge's findings of fact where he failed to take account of particular circumstances or probabilities or where his impression of a witness's demeanour is inconsistent with the evidence generally.
  • A rateable proportion (double insurance) clause limited to other insurances 'effected by him or on his behalf' by the insured applies only where the same insured has taken out additional cover; it does not capture a policy effected by a third party over the same property.
  • A discharge voucher in clear and unambiguous terms, executed freely and with the benefit of legal advice, constitutes an accord and satisfaction that releases the insurer from further liability even if the payment is less than the total assessed loss.
  • An insured who has not completed the purchase of the property cannot benefit from sums paid under a policy taken out by the vendor, not being a party to or beneficiary of that contract.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The appeal is dismissed with costs
  2. 2.The cross-appeal is dismissed with no orders as to costs
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya at Nairobi
H.C.C.C. No. 867 of 2001
Jurisdiction invoked
First appeal to the Court of Appeal under the Court of Appeal's appellate jurisdiction (the judgment cites no specific provision; appeal from a High Court decree)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Later judgments citing this (4)

#

Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Trinityprimeinvestmentlimited v Lion of Kenya Insurance Company Limited", Case Analysis (2015). Civil Appeal No. 147 of 2005. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2015/793/eng@2015-04-24

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.